Monday, November 30, 2009

happy birthday audrey!

This time last year I was home enjoying my new baby girl. I can't believe how insanely fast this past year has gone by. It's unreal. So in honor of my precious little girl, here's a pic spam. :)


Maternity Baby #2

My pregnancy with Audrey was so much easier on me (save for the pre-term labor scare I had at 6 months).

Baby Riggs #2

I had so many people swear up and down that she was boy. But I had a feeling the entire time it was a girl. I just knew!

Audrey Renae Riggs

After hearing all day Thanksgiving that I was going to give birth (and I wasn't even dilated at all), I figured everyone was stupid so I went to bed fully intending to do some Black Friday shopping the next day. Audrey had other plans though, as my water broke at 2:15 that morning. 11 hours later, she was here (via a perfect VBAC, if I do say so myself!).

Audrey and Santa

DSC_5390

DSC_5399

Wearing one of my old baby outfits!

Jackson & Audrey

With my best friend Erin's son, Jackson. Future husband and wife! ;)

Feb 09

DSC_5510_1

DSC_5962

3-14-09

DSC_6032

vday2

*faceplant*

my little blueberry girl

my blueberry girl ♥

Miss Audrey

Picture 015

DSC_6650 copy

DSC_6582 bw

Shy Pond

dork

el oh ellez

Guard bebe-10x more effective than a guard dog.

DSC_6993

my candy corn fairy (without her wings)

FINALLY a picture of her Halloween costume (but I forgot to bring her wings). She was a candy corn fairy!

my little birthday cupcake!

1st birthday portraits

my birthday girl!!

And finally one from the party-she LOVED her cupcake. She stuck her hands in the icing, rubbed her hands together, then ran them through her hair like it was hair gel. She was completely pink, it was hilarious!

i think she liked it!

Love you sweet girl. I don't know how I got blessed with someone as precious and amazing as you but somehow I did. ♥

Friday, October 23, 2009

I fail at updating this thing, I know.

So let me tell you my awesome, amazing, crazy story from last night.

Went to check out at Wal-Mart with Stephen and the guy in front of me was taking forever and a day talking to the cashier. I just figured he knew her so in my head I'm thinking "OMG HURRY UP MISSING FRINGE." He finally leaves and the girls starts scanning myself. I walk up to pay and she leans over and goes "I'm not supposed to say anything but the guy in front of you just payed for your groceries."

OMG WUT?

She said he didn't want her to say anything until he was gone but that he bought a $50 giftcard and told her to use it on my stuff and if there was any left over on the card, to give it to me (almost $10 was left on it). I just started laughing, I couldn't believe it! The cashier said she's never had that happen before (and neither have I). Ya'll, I don't know who that guy was. He had a woman with him who I'm assuming was his wife but I'd never seen either of them before. I just can't believe this happened! It doesn't seem real! I'm definitely going to have to pay it forward.

It's crazy that in the past couple of months, God has been so obviously active in our lives. We're completely different people from who we were like, five months ago. It's like He's on a roll and it's just one thing after another-the random $500 in my account, the giftcard, James not having cancer when he so should've, etc. I guess I'm almost in shock? Like I almost don't know whether to believe it's all happening.

My friend Meredith told me "Jackie, do you realize the GOD OF HEAVEN reached down and physically put money in your bank account?!?" It blows my mind. He has never been so obvious to me before. I love it. I love watching Him work, I love what He's doing in my husband, I love that He answered an almost four year old prayer of having godly women friends-there are three women in particular at the church we started going to back in May who have blessed me SO much. We talk almost every day and they are just AMAZING. God did that. He did all of it. And it's unbelievable to me.

About the kids...

Stephen talks SO FREAKIN MUCH. Ya'll, he can go for 30 minutes straight. Without stopping. Of course, most of it consists of "race car" but I'll take it.

Audrey is going to be walking soon I think. Or at least sooner than Stephen did (14 months). I can't believe she's almost a year and almost a toddler! She won't be my little baby girl anymore! :( She's beautiful though. Absolutely gorgeous.

And that's really it. Excited for the holidays, especially with TWO kids!

Thursday, September 10, 2009

4 years ago...




At this time 4 years ago, I was getting my hair done for my wedding. And trying not to freak out. ;)

Crazy the amount of stuff James and I have been through in just a few short years. And even crazier to think it's already been four years. We've been through countless jobs, apartments, bought a house, had two kids....I can only imagine what the next four years will bring.

It's been hard sometimes...VERY hard. There have been times where I wanted to give up and walk away. But I know it's worth it to work through those times. I'm seeing that now, where we're finally at a point where we've opened our eyes to what God wants to do with us and we're seeing His blessings.

I don't think I've ever shared how we met but I figured now would be a good a time as any! So if you care to read, here it is!

My senior year of high school, I had been out of church for about a year when my BF Kellie dragged me to a new church she was going to. I wound up kinda liking it and had been going for about two weeks when they announced the youth were going on a weekend mission trip to Dallas, to the church that had the youth rally shooting. We were just going to go and help clean up, etc.

I didn't know ANYONE in the youth group yet and my BF couldn't go. So believing that God wanted me to go for some reason, I went. Wound up sitting next to James in the van on the way there. He had some bizarre metal band t-shirt on and was just an all around jerk. Honestly. We played some trivia game on the way there and James told me my answer to one of the questions was "stupid." I was so embarrassed and couldn't stand him. Little did I know, he thought I was a snob because I wasn't talking to him!

I didn't really speak to him much after that. He told me after we got together that about two months later, I had gotten up to sing a solo at church one morning-and out of the blue he said it hit him, and he turned to his friend Brian and said "I'm gonna marry that girl." ♥

We wound up becoming friends and somehow it got back to me that he liked me. At the time, I had this ridiculous crush on another guy in the youth group). I also was on again/off again dating a guy from my school. James asked me to go to his school prom with him and I said yes but I remember being so terrified that he was going to make a move on me and I just did NOT like him like that. He wasn't my type.

He wound up taking me to one of the nicest restaurants in Houston for prom (we went with a bunch of his other friends). We went to prom and his friends' parents had rented a beach house for afterwards. I had so much fun, which I was surprised because I had expected to be uncomfortable the entire time. Then he took me home-and that's it. He was perfect gentleman the entire time. It was really nice.

I went off to college soon after, with James the furthest thought from my mind. Had a really hard first semester, it was such a change from what I had known. Towards the end, I was so disappointed with myself. I was so far from where I wanted to be. I came home for Christmas break and just prayed that God would change me-and for some reason, I prayed for a guy best friend. I'd never asked for that before but I'd always wanted one. I was so shy around guys that I wanted one I could be myself with and not feel so shy. My first semester I had the mindset of "I have to have a boyfriend" but after coming home for Christmas, I realized I didn't. And I really didn't want one either. I was perfectly content where I was in life.

My second semester was such a vast improvement, physically, emotionally, spiritually-and God answered my prayer for a guy best friend because somehow, me and James started emailing each other. I hadn't talked to him in months. But it soon got to where we were emailing each other several times a day. I looked forward to his emails. But even still, there was nothing romantic about it (at least on my end).

I came home at Easter break and James came over to my house to help me make a cake. I remember laughing and joking in my kitchen, both of us covered in flour. He asked me if I wanted to go take a walk out at the beach and even though I had warning signs going off in my head, I said yes.

He took me out on the jetties and told me he loved me. Said he saw qualities in me that he wanted in a wife. That he wanted to marry me and that he thanked God for me. I was floored. I mean, I knew he liked me and part of me even suspected it was more than just liking me-but to hear him say it out loud was crazy.

I opened my mouth, fully intent on telling him I was sorry, that I didn't feel the same way-when I felt a physical pressure on my chest and an audible voice telling me "Wait. You don't know what lies down that road." I have never experienced God quite like that, even to this day. But I've never doubted that it was Him.

I told James I'd pray about it because it was the only response I had. And I kept my word. I went back to school to finish out my last month of my freshman year and every single day, I prayed "God, Your will be done in this." I didn't know what else to pray.

I came home after my freshman year (suspended is more like it, made a 1.154 GPA that year) and went to watch James graduate high school (he's a year younger than me). Still wasn't feeling anything at all. Still had been praying but wasn't expecting anything to happen.

Till he walked in the room at his graduation party.

He was wearing a light blue button up shirt and khaki pants. He looked good. And my stomach dropped. I thought I was losing it. There was no way in the world I could be falling for James.

But I was. Over the next two weeks, we would be hanging out with the youth group and I couldn't stop looking at him. I remember driving to Taco Bell with him in the passenger seat next to me, some friends of ours in the back and this insane desire to just grab his hand. I had to fight with myself not to actually do it.

I wound up realizing that God was changing my heart. So I told James a few days before my 19th birthday that I was falling for him. He gave me this look like I had gone crazy, he couldn't believe it. He told me he had all but given up on me.

We went to our youth pastor's house and sat on their couch till late in the night and talked everything out with them-how we felt, where we saw ourselves going with it, what we should do. We became a couple half an hour before I turned 19. :)

I love our story. I love that God's hand is so prevalent in it. And I love that He's not done with us. I've seen where He's brought us, I can't wait to see where He takes us.

Wednesday, September 2, 2009

updating because Denisha told me to

Stephen:

He's almost 27 months now and talking up a storm! He catches on so quickly and repeats everything we say-sometimes that's not a good thing. ;) He's developed an obsession with Elmo and the Disney Cars movie. He watches both several times a day and can quote them. He's an alright eater but still nowhere near as good as he used to be. But he's getting better, especially now that he can eat with a fork and spoon. If I can just get him to drink more water instead of juice, I'll be happy. He also is in LOVE with his cousin Abby (who's 4). He always asks for her, follows her around when he's with her, etc. Very cute.



CRAZAY


Audrey:

She's 9 months now and just started crawling. We're still nursing, which is going well. She's a better eater now too, I guess she's finally gotten used to solids. Tried her on Gerber puffs the other week and she was not impressed. She is definitely a drama queen though-I remember at this age, Stephen was smacking himself in the face with toys or falling on his face when trying to crawl-he would just get back up and keep going, it didn't even phase him. Audrey however, screams and cries anything something even brushes against her wrong. She's such a girl. ;) She's a sweetheart though, but VERY attached to me. The absolute SECOND I walk through the door when I get home, she has to have me pick her up or she throws a fit. She's easygoing but yet, more work than Stephen was.



Her face for the past month (not kidding, her tongue has been out 24/7 for weeks)


James:

He's been staying home with the kids full-time but has started doing a few cakes on the side. He does a monthly birthday cake for my work and every month, gets better and better! He's really enjoying it so we're hoping it takes off. He really is talented! He also made some GOOD tamales about two weeks ago-so if you want some, I'm sure he'll be making more. :)

Me:

Job is good, though I do still wish it was closer to my house. Am hoping to take a dance class one night a week, I eventually hope to maybe teach some lessons on the side. Also trying to get more photography practice in. Hoping to start the alternative certification program to get my teaching certificate next month. I'm actually excited, which I can't believe considering I've been dismissing the idea of teaching for the past 7 years!

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

so much for updating!

Eventually I WILL update this thing regularly.

Maybe. ;)

So Stephen turns two on Sunday. Cue the waterworks! I looked at him the other day and realized, he is no longer my baby, he's a BOY. Thank goodness I have Audrey, otherwise I'd be dying of baby fever.

Stephen is learning so quickly though. He loves for us to tell him what things are and he loves to show you things he's learned. When I get him out of bed on Saturday mornings, he always shows me where the window is, where his baby picture is, etc.

He's also ridiculously obsessed with the following:

-ketchup
-washing machines (which he called "wabu he")
-seatbelts
-hangers

I have no idea why! Something about them fascinates him. It provides a lot of material to embarrass him with in front of future girlfriends. ;)

Audrey is now six months.....she's rolling over well, eating well, *almost* sitting up and I think she wants to crawl because she is one active, busy little girl. I'm not ready for that either. Didn't I just have her?!?!

She's gorgeous though...her eyes have changed color so I'm not quite sure what they are exactly-kinda greenish/bluish/gray. They're beautiful whatever they are! And she has the best smile-both my kids do. They're both such happy children, I couldn't have asked for better kids.

James is doing well. He's going to start working for Mother Teresa's (an Italian restaurant here in town) soon so we're looking forward to that. We've also started going to a new church that some friends of ours go to and we LOVE it. It's exactly what we've been looking for and we're both so excited to start serving in it.

Life is good! Now if I could somehow move my job closer to my house, everything would be perfect! ;)


A boy and his ketchup bottle

DSC_6032

Monday, March 16, 2009

oops

So much for me keeping up with this thing. ;)

UPDATES!

James-working part-time at the bakery in Wal-Mart and it's working out very well. My parents or his parents watch the kids on days he has to work and we get a bit of extra money. Can't complain!

Me-driving to Houston is not fun. But I love my job, even though I'm not getting my raise and we had to lay off three people in my office. :( BUT I'm going to look into getting my teaching certification. This economy has me scared I might be next on the chopping block and it'd be nice to have something to fall back on.

Stephen-this kid is hilarious. He's learning so much every day. But he's discovered how to climb, which is NOT so fun. He's also accident prone-I'm going to wrap him in bubble wrap. He's such a sweetheart though and loves to make us laugh. His favorite things at the moment:

Cars/trucks
Ketchup
Balls
Goldfish
the computer mouse
the dog leash at my parents
his baby sister :)

Audrey-She's 3 1/2 months now and CHUNKY. Girl has got some thighs, that's for sure. Still a little mini-me. She's discovered her feet and is talking up a storm. She's such a beautiful little girl!



Saturday, January 3, 2009

glimpse into the future perhaps?


Jackson Cravey (my friend Erin's little boy, who's 3 days older) and Audrey. When Erin's brother saw Audrey, he yelled "That's Audrey, Jackson's girlfriend!" You never know! ;)

Friday, January 2, 2009

Baby, Christmas, and a New Year!

So if you haven't heard by now...we had the baby! I know, I can't believe I forgot to update this thing but it's been insane here. Thank goodness the holidays are over.








Miss Audrey Renae Riggs, born November 28 at 1:38 pm. 8 lbs, 1.5 oz, 20 3/4 inches long.

She was definitely a surprise, as I spent Thanksgiving with no indications I was about to go into labor. Water broke at 2:15 that morning and I got to have her via VBAC (vaginal birth after cesearean) since my labor was progressing so well.
She's now 5 weeks old today and is such a wonderful baby. She nurses like a champ and sleeps anywhere from 2 1/2-4 hours at night. Stephen loves her and constantly pats on her on the head or lays his head on her and goes "Awww". He's a great big brother.

Speaking of Stephen...I think we need a bigger house for all his toys. That kid made out like a bandit on Christmas. If you could've seen what all my parents brought over that morning, you would've thought he was number one on Santa's list. His favorite toys are two (insanely loud) monster trucks, courtesy of Aunt Pete and Uncle Cliff and my parents. Cotten-Eyed Joe is now permantely stuck on repeat in our house. :)





On the house front, we've gotten almost everything unpacked. Pictures and curtains still need to be hung but at least it looks like a house.

I have one more week before heading back to work. While I like my job, I'm definitely not ready to leave my kids yet. It's been so nice being home.

Hope everyone had a happy new year!!